Panoramic view from the pier in BINZ

Panoramic view from the pier in BINZ

The Binzer Seebrücke is the second-longest pier of Rügen with 370 m. Here overlooking the well-known Kurhaus BINZ. More»

View of the Schmachter Lake and the Park of the senses

View of the Schmachter Lake and the Park of the senses

The Schmachter see is a 135 Hectares large lake. He is only 700 metres from the beach in BINZ. The peaceful atmosphere is relaxing. More»

The resort architecture in BINZ

The resort architecture in BINZ

The famous white bath architecture with the curved balconies is characteristic of the coastal resorts on Rügen. Elegant, playful, simply classy. More»

Beach in BINZ

Beach in BINZ

The fine sandy beach in BINZ is par excellence the attraction. The stone free and 5 km-long beach is guarded and has lots of stairways. More»

 

The Schmachter Lake

The origins of the Schmachter Lake

Part of the Schmachter Lake nature reserve and * Fangerien is the Schmachter Lake in BINZ auf Rügen. The Lake due to the settlement was given the name Sahib, who has been to the past directly on the southwestern shore of Lake.
The origin of the Lake is already in the ice age. This time there was a glacier tongue, What is the Lake. In the early days, he was still part of the Baltic Sea and had a depth of about 15 Meters on. Ago 5000 Years he has been due to the resulting spit “Small Heath” separated from the Baltic Sea. Today, the Lake is a shallow Lake, which has a depth of only between one and two meters. The water surface is located on a size of around 118 Hectares.

The location

It borders on the north end of BINZ. The well developed waterfront in BINZ is called Park of the senses, because it is here particularly quiet and relaxing. The Park of the senses on the occasion of the international horticultural exhibition IGA branch was laid in the year 2003. The promenade, which is also on the Bank at BINZ, is a very popular meeting place especially in the evening hours. This place is ideally suited, to experience the sunset. The Lake can be widely explored on the well-marked hiking trail.


Schmachter see: Park of the senses

Schmachter see: Park of the senses


The flora and fauna

On the slopes of the Lake you will find mainly beech forests. The foot of the slope is punctuated by certain sources. Seaward, alder and swamps align themselves. The banks are partly covered with reeds and swing bog vegetation. Almost all vegetation complexes around the Lake are rich in endangered species. Just the shore areas as the lake itself are breeding habitat, Resting Habitat and food Habitat for a variety of bird species. These include the Bittern, the great Reed Warbler, Grey geese, a variety of duck species, of geese but also from dwarf adoption, White-tailed eagles and Osprey.
Anyone looking for peace and tranquillity and proximity to a wide variety of plant and bird life, He should visit be sure once the Schmachter Lake.



*Fangerien = beech forest on the Nortwestufer of the Schmachter Lake

Blick von der Seebrücke in Binz

Blick von der Seebrücke in Binz

Die Binzer Seebrücke ist mit 370m die zweitlängste Seebrücke Rügens. Hier mit Blick auf das bekannte Kurhaus in Binz. Mehr »

Blick auf den Schmachter See und den Park der Sinne

Blick auf den Schmachter See und den Park der Sinne

Der Schmachter See ist ein 135 Hektar großer Binnensee. Er ist nur 700 m vom Strand in Binz entfernt. Die ruhige Atmosphäre dient der Entspannung. Mehr »

Die Bäderarchitektur in Binz

Die Bäderarchitektur in Binz

Die berühmte weisse Bäderarchitektur mit den geschwungenen Balkonen ist charakteristisch für die Seebäder auf Rügen. Elegant, verspielt, einfach edel. Mehr »

Strand in Binz

Strand in Binz

Der feinsandige Strand in Binz ist die Attraktion schlechthin. Der steinfreie und über 5 km lange Strand ist bewacht und hat jede Menge Aufgänge. Mehr »

 

Der Schmachter See

Die Entstehung des Schmachter Sees

Bestandteil des Naturschutzgebietes Schmachter See und *Fangerien ist der Schmachter See in Binz auf Rügen. Den Namen erhielt der See aufgrund der Siedlung Schmacht, welche zu früheren Zeiten direkt am südwestlichen Ufer des Sees gelegen hat.
Der Ursprung des Sees liegt bereits in der Eiszeit. Dort befand sich in dieser Zeit eine Gletscherzunge, woraus der See entstand. In den Anfängen war er noch Bestandteil der Ostsee und wies eine Tiefe von etwa 15 Metern auf. Vor etwa 5000 Jahren wurde er aufgrund der entstehenden Nehrung „Schmale Heide“ von der Ostsee getrennt. Heute handelt es sich bei diesem See um einen Flachwassersee, welcher nur noch eine Tiefe zwischen einem und zwei Metern aufweist. Die Wasseroberfläche liegt auf einer Größe von rund 118 Hektar.

Die Lage

Am nördlichen Ende grenzt er an Binz. Den gut ausgebauten Uferbereich in Binz nennt man Park der Sinne, da es hier besonders ruhig und erholsam zugeht. Angelegt wurde der Park der Sinne anlässlich der Internationalen Gartenbauausstellung IGA Außenstelle im Jahr 2003. Die Promenade, welche sich ebenfalls am Ufer bei Binz befindet, ist vor allem in den Abendstunden ein sehr beliebter Treffpunkt. Dieser Ort eignet sich optimal, um den Sonnenuntergang zu erleben. Auf dem gut ausgeschilderten Wanderweg lässt sich der See weitläufig umwandern.


Schmachter See: Park der Sinne

Schmachter See: Park der Sinne


Die Flora und Fauna

An den Hängen des Sees findet man überwiegend Buchenwälder. Der Hangfuß ist von Sicherquellen durchsetzt. Seewärts schließen sich Erlenbrüche und Sümpfe an. Die Ufer sind stellenweise bedeckt mit Röhrichten und Schwingmoorvegetation. Fast alle Vegetationskomplexe rund um den See sind sehr reich an gefährdeten Pflanzenarten. Gerade die Uferbereiche als auch der See selbst sind Brutbiotop, Rastbiotop und Nahrungsbiotop für eine Vielzahl von Vogelarten. Zu diesen gehören die Rohrdommel, die Drosselrohrsänger, Graugänse, eine Vielzahl von Entenarten, von Gänsen jedoch auch von Zwergsägern, Seeadlern und Fischadlern.
Wer Ruhe und Entspannung sucht und die unmittelbare Nähe zu einer großen Vielfalt der Pflanzen und Vogelwelt, der sollte unbedingt einmal dem Schmachter See einen Besuch abstatten.



*Fangerien = Buchenwald am Nortwestufer des Schmachter Sees